building new castles every day

Sarah Slean meets The Other Mother

In Hearings on June 15, 2010 at 9:00 AM

I can’t see them when they’re walking sideways.

Years ago, she hooked me with the piano chords and haunting vocals of “Sweet Ones“. And again this morning, I’ve been caught by “Day One”.

Video director, Nelson Chan, teamed up before with Sarah to create a short animated film, Tales of the Baroness. I never caught the first airing on Bravo! in 2007 but watching the trailer gives me heebie-geebies like I got from The Other Mother in Coraline. Beautiful women can be terrifying.

If you’d like more from Sarah Slean, I recommend CBC Radio 2’s Concert on Demand.  Sarah played a special thank you to the volunteers of the Regional Folk Festival.

Leave a Reply

