building new castles every day

Paternal Bicycle Portraits

In Learnings on June 21, 2010 at 1:12 PM

Father’s Day was this weekend and I’d been hunting for some greeting card inspiration. Bicycles often find their way onto cards for my dad, who is an avid cyclist (I will proudly boast to anyone willing to listen that he made a solo cross-Canada trip, pulling a BOB trailer on a decade-old Costco bicycle).

While searching for a good bike silhouette on I Love Bicycles, I came across a stunning Kickstarter project by Stan Engelbrecht and Nic Grobler of Cape Town and Johannesburg (respectively) in South Africa. Bicycle Portraits aims to document South Africans, their bicycles, and their reasons for using them. Biographical tidbits, Google mapping and some beautiful photography bolster this project. And they had reached their fundraising goal literally a couple hours before I stumbled upon it!

My dad, Ray, cycles for many reasons — to commute, to de-stress, to justify consumption of my mother’s baking. He also uses many different types of bikes — road, mountain, motor, foldable. Dad is a teach-yourself Bike Doctor and since my beastly Bush Pilot took a turn for the worse last week I’ve sent it back to the Island with him for repairs. In the mean time, I’m going to daydream about the Dahon he raves about.

Maybe I’ll get my pa to write a guest post about his bike recommendations for a limited-budget, apartment-dwelling young lady!

Go, Dad, go!

  1. […] other day I mentioned I was looking for a bicycle for my Father’s Day card. Well I changed my mind. My adopted pad […]

Leave a Reply

