building new castles every day

my october sisters

In Feelings on November 13, 2010 at 12:00 PM

I have two siblings. Two sisters. Two birthdays in October. One at the beginning and one at the end. With Thanksgiving in between and Halloween to cap off the month, and all the colours enveloping me from tree branches above and acorns below…these are reasons I couldn’t before articulate for why this is my favourite time of year.

Meghan is 22 this year. My Libra. More level-headed then I, keeping emotions just far enough away from the practical to be thorough and kind, she has become a rock to my wavering. Even those pigtails were well-balanced.

Samantha is just 17 months younger than I. To tell which of us looks the eldest isn’t so easy. My sister is bold and determined. We have worked for each others’ respect and I am proud to be her friend. She can make me laugh unlike anyone else.

To my sisters: I love you.

Leave a Reply

