building new castles every day

A lap is…

In Doings on June 4, 2012 at 10:06 PM

My mother comes across many children’s books in her profession. And lucky for me, it’s a shared passion of ours. She scours library book sales and her favourite second-hand shops for classics. She knows I love the art of Maurice Sendak and keeps her eyes peeled for his work.

Last year upon one of my visits home, she presented me with a small, pale green hardcover by Ruth Krauss, illustrated by Mr. Sendak and titled A Hole Is To Dig. Originally published in 1952, this sweet children’s book describes itself as “a first book of first definitions.” I’m preparing a shadow box to display it open on the wall of my new office. But in the meantime, it’s proved to be an inspiring source for birthday cards.

Thank goodness for laps.

Leave a Reply

